CPR Class Content Requirements for North Dakota EMTs

EMS Providers in North Dakota usually need a Basic Life Support (BLS/CPR) certification at the Healthcare provider level. Required skills include; Adult and child one and two rescuer CPR, infant CPR, obstructed airway, AED, and use of a bag-valve- mask. Some EMTs' may also need a First Aid course as well, but this is determined by the employer.

CAPCE (Commission on Accreditation for Pre-Hospital Continuing Education) CPR Certification Requirements

Summary of Board Requirement

CAPCE (previously called CECBEMS) requires to maintain CPR for Healthcare Providers that includes practical skills evaluation component. CAPCE accredited organizations listed here.

Board Statement

CAPCE (previously CECBEMS) recognizes that EMS providers are required to maintain certification in a number of disciplines, including:

  • CPR for Healthcare Providers (CPR) 
  • Advanced Cardiac Life Support (ACLS) 
  • Pediatric Advanced Life Support (PALS) 
  • Advanced Medical Life Support (AMLS) 
  • Advanced Trauma Life Support (ATLS) 
  • Pediatric Education for Prehospital Professionals (PEPP) 
  • Advanced Pediatric Life Support (APLS) 
  • Pediatric Emergency Assessment, Recognition, and Stabilization (PEARS)

EMS providers frequently maintain these certifications simultaneously through distributive learning. There are a number of CAPCE-accredited organizations that offer these certification courses. The most popular are ACLS, PALS, and CPR, and include practical skills evaluation as a required component.

Board Req. Board Info

State Health Department, Division of Emergency Health Services CPR Certification Requirements

Summary of Board Requirement

The North Dakota Department of Health, Division of Emergency Medical Systems requires CPR certification with practical skills component that adheres to the Healthcare Provider level training standards of AHA/ECC or its equivalent.

Board Statement

CHAPTER 33-36-01 Emergency Medical Services Personnel Training, Testing, Certification, and Licensure

2. Emergency medical technician:

Completion of a twenty-four hour emergency medical technician-basic refresher course which includes a cardiopulmonary resuscitation health care provider refresher, answering correctly at least seventy percent of the questions on a written examination specified by the department and passing a local practical examination meeting the department's requirements;

Board Req. Board Info

Choose Your CPR Training Method

EMS Providers in North Dakota are required to do the Basic Life Support level of CPR certification for Healthcare Providers that includes a practical skills evaluation through a classroom or blended training process. 100% online CPR will only be an option upon the discretion of the employer or institution and is not accepted by the state licensing department or for continuing education credits for Emergency Responders.

Some employers may require a specific type of training, or may leave it up to the State’s requirement. If you are not certain of your employer's requirement, make sure to check with them about both the training type and the required course content.

Click one of the following options to learn more about CPR training.

Nationally Approved

US Coast Guard
Dental Assisting National Board
Academy of General Dentistry